Re-running SmartTag

If you've added, updated or deleted the definitions in a project’s tag dictionary, re-run SmartTag over files to capture any instances of newly defined/edited tags.

  • Hover your mouse over the file's thumbnail to display a vertical ellipsis in the bottom right corner. Click the ellipsis to expand links to Properties, SmartTag and Delete:

To re-tag multiple files, select them using the white selection boxes in the top-right corner of each file thumbnail. An orange checkmark and border should appear to confirm selection:

Quick Tip: Use ‘Select All’ keyboard shortcuts (Ctrl + A on Windows, or Command ⌘ + A on Mac) to select all thumbnails.

  • Click the the Tasks (cog) icon on the files taskbar to expand links to SmartTag and Delete:

  • Click SmartTag. You will see this pop-up warning:

This is to remind you that all automatic tag instances from the previous SmartTag run will technically be erased and replaced with all tags found in the new run. However, except for instances of new or altered tags, all former tag instances will just be re-created; the SmartTag engine will find the same instances as it did in the initial run. Any manual tags that your team has added will also be unchanged. 

  • Click the Run SmartTag button. This pop-up will appear in the upper right corner of your screen once all tagging is finished:

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us